A Rare Recipe Share: “The Ultimate Vegan Lasagna!”


I concur that this is "The Ultimate Vegan Lasagna!"

Though I do not eat meat or dairy, and try my best to adhere to a Vegan diet, I love comfort food.

Fall and winter afternoons find me listening to music and cooking or baking an evening meal or dessert.  And of course, making sure the wine I have selected for cooking is also appropriate for drinking 😉

I am not sure that I have ever shared a recipe, but I made this one last night, and it is so good, that I have to pass it along.  There is no cheese or meat substitutes in it, which I love!

I have started following a blog called “With a Side of Sneakers” (great blog!) and this recipe belongs to its author.

Yep, even Iron Man was trying to taste its deliciousness.

It was a hit in my house.  My meat loving husband even sang its praises (no really, Kris stood up at the dinner table and started singing about the tangy tomato sauce and vivacious vegetables) and it is really pretty easy to make.  The filling is delicious and could be easily used for stuffed shelled, baked ziti, etc.

Anyway- I want to pass it on to you:

Delicious!

A couple of recommendations:  I would double the amount of filling that you make because the amount the recipe yielded was not quite enough.  I added zucchini, yellow squash, onion and green pepper to the vegetables.

For the sauce, either make your own, buy jarred, or do what I  do, buy sauce from your favorite Italian restaurant and use theirs when you are crunched for time.

I also make a vegan garlic bread using Earth Balance (if you do not know about this alternative to butter, you should) garlic salt, onion powder, oregano and basil (just put them in a little bowl, mix together to taste, spread it on the bread and pop it in the broiler for about three minutes).  Combining this with the lasagna made me forget I was eating a vegan meal!

Kudos to “With a Side of Sneakers” for coming up with this recipe!

What are your thoughts?

